Fondos Grand

I drive by the banners newly strapped to the guard rails
A race ready presentation for a cycling fondo.
I am stirred to reflect as if one of the thousands who will go by.
Latter I push myself, and race to that swopping dip in the road.
It comes and all I see is the road and gravel to avoid, the banners
Flicker past the eyes and are gone, with no emotion to the context
Of my stirred imagination, or that there will be an event tomorrow.
On the way back I roll up the hill and read the repeating names of sponsors
But only hoping I can find another rider on the simple road.
The fondo calls for thousands, thousands come and that makes it grand.
Leave a Reply

