I Drive the Car Slow

I drive the car slow as I can on cruise control.

Not much faster than I ride the bike, I wait for the full light.

Keeping the revs at two thousand and below.

Of course I wish I were riding behind, me, on a fast steady bike.

Drafting I find is quite useful behind trucks to save gas

But only on highways with wide open lanes and going fast.


This morning I let everyone past me, driving my pace of steady

The lights come strong then go by with a flash of green.

The pressure to make time I dare not avoid the clock at work

It waits for the punch of the number that is me. With a car I

Worry of traffic slowing and making me late. It’s much better to be

The controller of my own fate, and I like the bike much better for that.

Leave a Reply

